College History

Dean: Maria Victoria Crisostomo

The second chairperson was Prof. Ma. Victoria I. Crisostomo. She demonstrated equal attention among education students. She initiated the new curricula for major courses such as Mathematics, Home Economics and Social Science. She assumed leadership from September 1997 to May 1998. She finished her bachelor course at the University of the East with the degree of Bachelor of Science in Education. She finished her Master’s degree in Education at the UDM Graduate School, specializing in Educational Management.

In 1998, Prof. Ma. Rita R. Aranda became the third chairperson of the department. She supervised the first batch of student teachers to be trained and molded in different public secondary schools. Prof. Aranda finished her Master of Arts in Teaching Language and Literature at the Philippine Normal University and Master of Arts in Education major in Filipino at the National Teacher’s College. She is also a textbook writer and campus magazine contributor.

Prof. Susan Sioteco Aguilos(deceased) was another dedicated chairperson of the department. She took her leadership from 1999-2000. She made a remarkable contribution to the College of Education when more than 80% of the Education students graduated during her term.

The only man to chair the department was Prof. Jose M. de Leon. He administered the department from 2000-2002. He was the one who organized the first Education Student Council (ESC).

The sixth chairperson was Prof. Virginia Berganio who administered the department from June 2002-May 2003. She finished her college education at Roxas Memorial College of Arts and Trade with the degree of Bachelor of Science in Industrial Education in 1987. Her notable accomplishment was the improvement of the Home Economics room.

Prof. Susan Sicteco Aguilos was re-instated once again as the department’s chairperson. She was addressed as the first dean of the College of Education. She later was appointed Officer in Charge of the English Proficiency Program from June 16, 2005 to June 8, 2006.

After Prof. Aguilos, Prof. Victoria Crisostomo held her deanship from June 16, 2005 to June 14. 2006. She supervised the LET Review and Comprehensive Examinations for the graduating students. After her term, she was appointed as the Officer-in-Charge of the English Proficiency Program.

On June 14, 2006, Dr. Jacqueline B. Patarata was appointed Dean of the College. She was the former Coordinator of the Industrial Technology Department. She finished her Master’s Degree in Education in 1999 and her Doctoral Degree in 2003 at the Pamantasan Lungsod ng Maynila (PLM). She was a former teacher of Manila Science High School.

Prof. Susan Sioteco Aguilos was once again re-instated as the Dean of the College. Later that year, Prof. Regin Carlos F. Tambo-ong was appointed as College Secretary and later as the Associate Dean of the College.

On June, 2012, Ma. Victoria I. Crisostomo has once again received the mantle of leadership as she was re-appointed as the Dean of the College for the third time. Alongside her, Mr. Ronnie M. Sta. Maria became her right-hand man and became the Associate Dean of the College. On February 17, 2013 Mr. Alistair B. Selorio was appointed as the Associate Dean of the College while Prof. Sta. Maria was assigned to the College of Industrial Technology to become its Associate Dean.

The various leaderships have eventually helped the department enhance its vision and mission – uplifting the standard of teaching of future educators to meet the demands of the 21st Century learners.